Off the Block Fan Choice Player of the Year: Play-in Match

Off the Blocked selected and seeded the 65 players in a bracket, and now it is up to the fans to determine who should win the Off the Block Fan Choice Player of the Year.

The Fan Choice Player of the Year recognizes the best individual performances from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players during the season and gives volleyball fans from around the world the chance decide the winner through online voting.

The seven-round tournament began Tuesday with the play-in match-up between Penn State middle attacker Aaron Russell and UCLA outside attacker Gonzalo Quiroga.


Online voting for the play-in match will end at 11 p.m. (EST) Tuesday with the winner advance to the 64-player first round on Wednesday.


No. 12 seed Gonzalo Quiroga — UCLA, outside attacker
Quiroga was among MPSF leaders and in the nation’s top 10 with 47 aces and was second on UCLA with a 2.53 kills per game average. The sophomore also earned Second-Team All-MPSF honors as UCLA finished in fifth place in the MPSF and reached the conference tournament quarterfinals.

No. 12 seed Aaron Russell — Penn State, middle attacker
Russell led Penn State with a 0.94 blocks per game average and was in the nation’s top 40 with 25 aces. The freshman also was a First-Team All-EIVA selection as the Nittany Lions won their 14th consecutive EIVA championship to reach the Final Four.

2 Replies to “Off the Block Fan Choice Player of the Year: Play-in Match”

  1. gonzalo, sos el mejor de todos !!! continúa sí hasta llegar a la Selección Mayor !!!

Comments are closed.