Stanford setter Shaw wins 2016 Lloy Ball Award

Stanford setter James Shaw opened the season returning to the court from an injury and now ends the year winning the nation’s top award for a setter.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Shaw as the recipient of the 2016 Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award, which is named after the former IPFW All-American and U.S. Olympian setter, is presented to the nation’s best setter in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Shaw after missing most of last year with an injury led Stanford in the regular season to a .344 attack percentage, third best in the nation, and was among the national leaders averaging 10.06 assists per game. The senior also had 32 aces and at least five kills in 14 regular season matches to help the Cardinal almost earn an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament.


Shaw, a 2014 finalist for the Lloy Ball Award, received 16 of the 26 first-place votes from a nationwide voting committee comprised of head coaches and media members.

The top three vote-getters were named finalists for this national award.

Ohio State setter Christy Blough finished in second place receiving four first-place votes and 26 points — almost half as many points as Shaw. In addition, Long Beach State setter Josh Tuaniga came in the third place with 19 points.

This is the third year that Off the Block has presented the Lloy Ball Award. Former USC All-American setter Micah Christenson won the inaugural award in 2014 and Christenson and former Pepperdine All-American setter Matt West were co-winners last year.

The Lloy Ball Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation’s top opposite, the Erik Shoji Award to the nation’s top libero, the Ryan Millar Award to the nation’s top middle attacker, Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in 2011.

1. James Shaw, Stanford — 50 (16) points
2. Christy Blough, Ohio State — 26 (4) points
3. Josh Tuaniga, Long Beach State — 19 (1) points
T-4. Peter Hutz, Loyola — 10 (1) points
T-4. Micah Ma’a, UCLA — 10 (1) points
6. Leo Durkin, BYU — 9 points
7. David Grandy, Erskine — 6 (2) points
T-8. Taylor Hammond, Penn State — 4 points
T-8. Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara — 4 points
10. Daniel Ford, St. Francis — 3 (1) points

One Reply to “Stanford setter Shaw wins 2016 Lloy Ball Award”

Comments are closed.