MIVA announces 2014 Player of Year, all-conference teams

For the second straight year, a player from Loyola is earning the MIVA Player of the Year — it just wasn’t the person everyone projected at the start of the season.

The MIVA announced on Wednesday that Loyola outside attacker Thomas Jaeschke was selected as the 2014 MIVA Player of the Year.


Jaeschke was among the conference leaders with both a 3.98 kills per game average and a .397 attack percentage as he helped Loyola finish the regular season undefeated in MIVA play. He also becomes one of the first sophomores in league history to be named Player of the Year.

Along with earning Player of the Year, Jaeschke was named to the First-Team All-MIVA. Loyola tied Lewis and Ball State for the conference lead with four players earning all-conference honors — including the Joseph Smalzer, the Preseason MIVA Player of the Year, who was selected to the First-Team All-MIVA.

Check out all the players to earn all-conference honors and the top individual awards.

Player of the Year:
Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola
Freshman of the Year: Driss Guessous, Ohio State
Coach of the Year: Shane Davis, Loyola

Setter: BJ Boldog, Lewis
Opposite: Geoff Powell, Lewis
Opposite: Andrew Sellan, IPFW
Outside attacker: Cody Caldwell, Loyola
Outside attacker: Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola
Outside attacker: Ben Ponnet,Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: Joe Smalzer, Loyola
Middle attacker: Driss Guessous,Ohio State
Middle attacker: Matt Leske, Ball State
Libero: David Ryan Vander Meer, Ball State

Setter: Graham McIlvaine, Ball State
Setter: Omar Rivera, IPFW
Outside attacker: Colin Hackworth, Lindenwood
Outside attacker: Andrew Lutz, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Greg Petty, Lewis
Outside attacker: Eddie Rivera, IPFW
Middle attacker: Nicholas Olson,Loyola
Middle attacker: Kevin Owens, Ball State
Middle attacker: Bobby Walsh, Lewis
Libero: Lucas Yanez, Lewis