NJIT athletics director Kaplan selected as new EIVA President

Photo courtesy of NCAA athletics

A former chair of the NCAA men’s volleyball committee will move into one of the top leadership positions in the EIVA.

The conference unanimously voted in favor of NJIT athletics director Lenny Kaplan becoming the new EIVA President.


Kaplan has led the Highlanders athletics department since 2000 and was named the 2017-18 Division I-AAA Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year. He also concluded a five-year term as the East Coast representative on the NCAA men’s volleyball committee, including spending the last three years as the committee chair.

EIVA President is one of seven positions that comprise the EIVA Executive Committee. Kaplan previously served on the Executive Committee as the Athletic Administration Representative.

Kaplan will replace Ron Shayka, who served as the conference’s president for the last eight years. Shayka is retiring from his associate athletics director position at George Mason and also served as the chair of the NCAA men’s volleyball committee from 2014-15.