Former UCSB setter, Olympic gold medalist Rogers makes Volleyball Hall of Fame

Photo courtesy of the FIVB

One of the greatest setters in UC Santa Barbara history has earned his spot among the all-time greats.

The International Volleyball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday that Todd Rogers was selected to the latest hall of fame class.

Rogers before becoming world renown as an Olympic gold medalist in beach volleyball was a two-time All-American for the Gauchos in the 1990s. The setter 25 years since his collegiate career remains second in program history with 4,831 career assists and third all-time among the Gauchos with 783 career digs.

After graduating from UC Santa Barbara, Rogers transitioned to beach volleyball and was named the 1997 AVP Rookie of the Year. He also climbed into the top 10 of the world rankings en route being named an alternate for the 2004 Olympics.


Rogers made his Olympic debut four years later and with his beach partner Phil Dalhausser won the gold medal. In addition, Rogers in 2008 earned the FIVB Best Defensive Player for the third consecutive year.

Rogers in his final Olympics appearance in 2012 advanced to the Round of 16.

Along with his playing career, Rogers served as an assistant coach for UC Santa Barbara from 2000 to 2005. The former Olympian is now the head coach of the Cal Poly women’s beach volleyball team.

Two former NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players are a part of this nine-member hall of fame class. Former Hawai’i opposite Clay Stanley will join Rogers being enshrined into the hall of fame.

“This Class has been two years in the making and we are excited to be back again celebrating the careers and legacies of these nine incredible Inductees.” IVHF Executive Director George Mulry said during a live video message announcing the class. “This is going to be a truly remarkable Induction Celebration in October and I hope volleyball fans from all over will make the trip to Holyoke or tune-in to the live broadcast. It’s going to be a very special event.”

The induction ceremony will take place on Oct. 15-16 at the International Volleyball Hall of Fame in Holyoke, Massachusetts.