Pepperdine outside Wieczorek four-peats as OTB Fan Choice National Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Pepperdine athletics and Martin A. Folb

It’s officially a four-peat for Pepperdine All-American outside attacker David Wieczorek.

Wieczorek received 1,001 votes in the four-person championship round to win the Off the Block Fan Choice National Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

The Off the Block Fan Choice National Player of the Year recognizes the best individual performances from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players during the season and gives volleyball fans from around the world the chance decide the winner through online voting.

The six-round bracket style tournament started with 72 players. In addition, the event on the Off the Block website concluded Friday night with Wieczorek earning more than 50 percent of the votes in the championship round.


Wieczorek, the MPSF Player of the Year and finalist for the Karch Kiraly Award, was in the nation’s top 15 with both a 3.86 kills per game average and a .371 attack percentage. He also had double-digit kills in all but four matches this season, including a match-high 18 kills on a .571 attack percentage as Pepperdine swept USC in the MPSF Tournament finals.

Along with his offensive performance, Wieczorek contributed both a career-high 42 aces and 137 digs.

Wieczorek in the championship round edged out the runner-up Penn State middle attacker Jason Donorovich, who received 21 percent of the vote. CSUN outside attacker Dimitar Kalchev finished in third place 16 percent, while Pepperdine middle attacker Kevin Vaz garnered 5 percent of the vote.

All four players advanced to the championship round after winning their region in the Fan Choice National Player of the Year Tournament.

This was the ninth season that Off the Block presented the Fan Choice National Player of the Year. Besides Wieczorek’s four titles, previous winners include Loyola outside attacker Mike Bunting in 2011, Ball State middle attacker Matt Leske in 2012, Purdue Fort Wayne outside attacker Eddie Rivera in 2013, the BYU outside attacker Taylor Sander in 2014 and Coker opposite Artur Cabral in 2015.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that was established in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

National Player of Year voting results

[crowdsignal poll=10335909]