Hawai’i middle Gasman wins 2019 National Blocker of the Year

Hawai’i middle attacker Patrick Gasman will enter the national championship match now as the winner of a national award.

Off the Block announced Friday that a nationwide voting committee selected Gasman as the winner of the Off the Block National Blocker of the Year.

The Off the Block National Blocker of the Year recognizes the NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball player with the best front-row defensive performance during the regular season.

Gasman entered the NCAA Tournament leading the Big West and second in the nation with a 1.42 blocks per game average. He also had a career-high 121 blocks.


The middle attacker had at least five blocks in 11 regular season matches as he helped the Rainbow Warriors earn the No. 1 overall seed for the NCAA Tournament and advance to the finals.

The voting committee for the National Blocker of the Year was comprised of about 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball media members from around the nation.

The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the National Blocker of the Year.

Gasman received 55 votes — more votes combined than the other two finalists. Lincoln Memorial middle attacker Pedro Carvalho finished as the runner-up with 18 votes, while UC Irvine middle attacker Scott Stadick received 10 votes.

This is the ninth year that Off the Block has presented the National Blocker of the Year. Previous winners are former BYU middle attacker Futi Tavana in 2011, former USC middle attacker Robert Feathers in 2012, former UC Santa Barbara middle attacker Dylan Davis in 2013, former Lewis middle attacker Bobby Walsh in 2015, middle attacker Tommy Carmody with Pacific in 2014 and Pepperdine in 2016, former Long Beach State middle attacker Amir Lugo-Rodriguez in 2017 and Stadick last year.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2019 National Blocker of the Year voting results

1. Patrick Gasman, Hawai’i — 55 points
2. Pedro Carvalho, Lincoln Memorial — 18 points
3. Scott Stadick, UC Irvine — 10 points
4. Paul Narup, Loyola — 9 points
5. Nick Amado, Long Beach State — 6 points
T-6. Hunter Howell, Concordia-Irvine — 3 points
T-6. Miki Jauhianinen, BYU — 3 points
T-6. Tyler Mitchem, Lewis — 3 points
T-6. Kevin Vaz, Pepperdine — 3 points
T-6. Eric Visgitis, Mount Olive — 3 points
11. Jaylen Jasper, Stanford — 2 points
T-12. Luca Berger, NJIT — 1 point
T-12. TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State — 1 point
T-12. Randy Deweese, UC Santa Barbara — 1 point
T-12. Ryan Moss, USC — 1 point
T-12. Jon Wheaton, King — 1 point