Initial roster released for U.S. Youth National Team

Fifteen incoming freshmen recruits will compete for an opportunity to represent the United States at one of the biggest youth international tournaments.

USA Volleyball earlier this week unveiled its 25-player training roster for U.S. Boys’ Youth National Team that will complete at the upcoming FIVB Boys’ U19 World Championships.

Long Beach State led all teams with three incoming recruits making the U.S. initial roster. In addition, Stanford, UCLA, USC and the defending-NCAA champions Loyola each had two recruit selected the roster.


Along with these schools, BYU, Pepperdine, Princeton and Hawai’i all had one recruit earn a roster spot.

The United States earned a berth to the World Championship after winning the NORCECA Continental Championship last year.

Long Beach State incoming recruit and outside attacker TJ DeFalco was named the Most Valuable Player at the NORCECA tournament. UCLA incoming recruit Micah Ma’a also was selected as the Best Setter as the United States went undefeated at the international tournament.

The U.S. roster will be cut to 12 players following its July training session in Des Moines, Iowa.

The FIVB Boys’ U19 World Championships will begin Aug. 14 in Argentina.

Incoming college recruits
Setter: Joshua Tuaniga, Long Beach State
Setter: Michael Wexter, Pepperdine
Opposite: Kyle Ensing, Long Beach State
Opposite: Matt Klassen, Stanford
Opposite: Dane Leclair, Loyola
Outside attacker: TJ DeFalco, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Jordan Ewert, Stanford
Outside attacker: Micah Ma’a, UCLA
Outside attacker: Collin Mahan, Loyola
Outside attacker: Dylan Missry, UCLA
Outside attacker: Corry Short, Princeton
Middle attacker: Branden Oberender, BYU
Middle attacker: Tyler Resnick, USC
Libero: Matt Douglas, USC
Libero: Joe Worsley, Hawai’i
Uncommitted or high school underclassmen
Setter: Paul Bischoff
Setter: Casey McGarry
Opposite: Bobby Wilden
Outside attacker: Reese Devilbiss
Outside attacker: Noah Dyer
Outside attacker: Chase Howard
Outside attacker: Sam Kobrine
Middle attacker: George Huhmann
Middle attacker: Tyler Alter
Middle attacker: Scott Stadick