Pepperdine opposite Kalmbach wins 2015 Bryan Ivie Awrd

A nationwide voting committee selected Pepperdine All-American opposite Parker Kalmbach as the inaugural recipient of the Bryan Ivie Award.

Off the Block announced Wednesday morning that Kalmbach won the new national award given to the best opposite in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Kalmbach led the MPSF and was sixth in the nation with a 4.11 kills per game average, including having at least 20 kills in six matches. The First-Team All-MPSF selection also was second on the Waves with both a 1.91 digs per game average and 72 blocks as Pepperdine earned a top-three seed for the MPSF Tournament.


Kalmbach led all opposites with 14 first-place votes and finished with 64 votes for the Bryan Ivie Award. In addition, the Pepperdine senior beat-out runner-up UC Irvine opposite Zack La Cavera by 16 votes.

Hawai’i Brooke Sedore, the other finalist for the Bryan Ivie Award, came in third place with 31 votes.

The voting committee for the Bryan Ivie Award was comprised of more than 30 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The new college men’s volleyball award is named after the former U.S. Olympian and USC All-American opposite Bryan Ive.

The Bryan Ivie Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Lloy Ball Award to the nation’s top setter, the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in January 2011.

1. Parker Kalmbach, Pepperdine — 64 (14) votes
2. Zack La Cavera, UC Irvine — 48 (7) votes
3. Brook Sedore, Hawai’i — 31 (6) votes
4. Cody Kessel, Princeton — 17 (1) votes
T-5. Eric Fitterer, Lewis — 4 votes
T-5. Nick Goodell, Penn State — 4 votes
T-5. Colin Hackworth, Lindenwood — 4 (1) votes
T-5. Andrew Sellan, IPFW — 4 (1) votes
T-9. Arthur Carbal, Coker — 3 (1) votes
T-9. Michael Michelau, Erskine — 3 votes
11. Ben Plaisted, Loyola — 1 vote