USC setter Christenson wins 2014 Lloy Ball Award

A nationwide voting committee selected USC setter Micah Christenson as the inaugural recipient of the Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award is given to the nation’s best setter in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Christenson led the nation with an 11.69 assists per game average and was first among setters in the nation with a 2.36 digs per game average. The All-American junior returning to USC after playing for the U.S. Men’s National Team in the off-season also helped the Trojans qualify for the MPSF Tournament.


Along with his offensive performance, Christenson led USC with 25 aces, including having three aces in a critical late-season conference victory against its cross-town rivals UCLA.

Christenson received the overwhelming majority of first-place votes and beat the runner-up and finalist Pepperdine setter Matt West by 28 votes. Stanford setter James Shaw, the other finalist for the Lloy Ball Award, finished in third place with 18 votes.

The voting committee for the Lloy Ball award was comprised of more than 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The annual award is named after the former U.S. Olympian and IPFW All-American setter.

The Lloy Ball Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in January 2011.

1. Micah Christenson, USC — 56 votes
2. Matt West, Pepperdine — 28 votes
3. James Shaw, Stanford — 18 votes
T-4. Peter Hutz, Loyola — 13 votes
T-4. Connor Olbright, Long Beach State — 13 votes
6. Graham McIlvaine, Ball State — 6 votes
T-7. BJ Boldog, Lewis — 3 votes
T-7. Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara — 3 votes
T-9. Omar Rivera, IPFW — 2 votes
T-9. Tim Schmidt, Lindenwood — 2 votes