Long Beach middle Torwie named 2024 National Blocker of Year

Photo by Vinnie Lopes

It’s a repeat for Long Beach State middle attacker Simon Torwie.

Off the Block announced Saturday that a nationwide voting committee selected Torwie for the second consecutive year as the recipient of the National Blocker of the Year.

The Off the Block National Blocker of the Year recognizes the NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball player with the best front-row defensive performance during the regular season.


Torwie led the Big West and was second in the nation with a 1.34 blocks per game average as he helped Long Beach State advance to the NCAA Tournament finals. The middle attacker also had at least five blocks in 13 matches, including a match-high nine blocks against Grand Canyon in the NCAA Tournament semifinals.

The voting committee for the National Blocker of the Year was comprised of more than 20 coaches and media members from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the National Blocker of the Year.

Torwie received 65 votes – more votes than the other two finalists had combined. Grand Canyon middle attacker Cameron Thorne was the runner-up with 35 votes, while Belmont Abbey middle attacker Jibriel Elhaddad finished in third place with seven blocks.

This is the 14th year that Off the Block has presented the National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2024 National Blocker of the Year voting results

1. Simon Torwie, Long Beach State – 61 votes
2. Cameron Thorne, Grand Canyon – 35 votes
3. Jibriel Elhaddad, Belmont Abbey – 7 votes
4. Merrick McHenry, UCLA – 5 votes
5. Martin de Chavarria, Pepperdine – 4 votes
T-6. Matthew Gentry, Lincoln Memorial – 3 votes
T-6. Cooper Robinson, UCLA – 3 votes
8. Nicodemus Meyer, Loyola – 2 votes
T-9. Toby Ezeonu, Penn State – 1 vote
T-9. Cole Young, Ohio State – 1 vote