U.S. announces roster for upcoming U21 World Championship

Photo courtesy of the NCAA

Multiple Freshman All-Americans and all-conference recipients will represent the United States at the FIVB U21 World Championship

USA Volleyball announced on Friday the 18-player roster for the U.S. Men’s National Team that will compete at the international tournament in July.

The U.S. roster features six players who were named to the Freshman All-American Team during the recent NCAA men’s volleyball season.

Among these Freshman All-Americans includes UCLA setter Andrew Rowan. Rowan, the 2023 National Newcomer of the Year, guided the Bruins offense to a nation-best .382 attack percentage as UCLA won its first NCAA championship in 17 years.


UCLA led all schools with three players making the U.S. roster, while Ohio State, Stanford and USC each had two players named to the team.

The United States qualified for the U21 World Championship en route to winning the gold medal at the 2022 U21 Pan American Cup. Rowan was named the most valuable player and won the best server award at the international event.

The team also won the silver medal at the 2023 U21 Pan American Cup last month and had a match-point opportunity in the gold-medal match before losing in five games.

The U21 World Championship will begin July 7 in Bahrain.

The United States in preparation for the tournament will hold a weeklong training session in California starting Sunday. In addition, it will travel to Bulgaria for exhibition matches against Brazil, Iran and the host nation on June 30 through July 4.

2023 U.S. Men’s Junior National Team roster

Setter: Gabe Dyer, UC San Diego
Setter: Tyler Morgan, Lewis
Setter: Andrew Rowan, UCLA
Opposite: George Bruening, UC Santa Barbara
Opposite: Theo Snoey, Stanford
Opposite: Shane Wetzel, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Dillon Klein, USC
Outside attacker: Trent Moser, BYU
Outside attacker: Zach Rama, UCLA
Outside attacker: Patrick Rogers
Outside attacker: Alex Rottman, Stanford
Outside attacker: Kyle Teune, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Nyherowo Omene, Princeton
Middle attacker: Owen Rose, Penn State
Middle attacker: Wesley Smith, USC
Middle attacker: Micah Wong Diallo, UCLA
Libero: Ryan Merk, Penn State
Libero: Jacob Reilly, Concordia