Hawai’i opposite Mouchlias wins 2023 Bryan Ivie Award

Photo courtesy of the NCAA

The highly decorated college career of Dimitrios Mouchlias will include one more prestigious individual honor.

Off the Block announced Tuesday that a nationwide voting committee selected Mouchlias as the recipient of the 2023 Bryan Ivie Award.

The Bryan Ivie Award, which is named after the former USC All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best opposite in NCAA men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Mouchlias led the Big West and was sixth in the nation with a 4.03 kills per game average, including having a season-high 25 kills in a victory against Penn State in the NCAA Tournament semifinals. The opposite was in the nation’s top 15 with a career-best .387 attack percentage and had a career-high 119 digs to help Hawai’i win the Big West championship and reach the NCAA Tournament finals.


The voting committee for the Bryan Ivie Award was comprised of more than 30 coaches and media members from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Bryan Ivie Award.

A tie in the voting resulted in four finalists this season for the Bryan Ivie Award.

Mouchlias garnered 56 votes to edge out the runner-up Pepperdine opposite Jaylen Jasper by five votes. Both Penn State opposite Cal Fisher and Loyola opposite Parker Van Buren finished tied for third place with 17 votes.

This is the eighth year that Off the Block has presented the Bryan Ivie Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2023 Bryan Ivie Award voting results

1. Dimitrios Mouchlias, Hawai’i – 56 votes
2. Jaylen Jasper, Pepperdine – 51 votes
T-3. Cal Fisher, Penn State – 17 votes
T-3. Parker Van Buren, Loyola – 17 votes
5. Ido David, UCLA – 12 votes
6. Francesco Sani, UC Irvine – 6 votes
T-7. Shane Wetzel, Ohio State – 3 votes
T-7. Jamal Ellis Carballo, Fairleigh Dickinson – 3 votes
T-9. Uriel Batista, Concordia – 2 votes
T-9. Clarke Godbold, Long Beach State – 2 votes
T-9. Raje Alleyne, Quincy – 2 votes
12. Christian Prayer, Lewis – 1 vote