Off the Block unveils 2022 All-Independent Team

Seventeen players earned a college men’s volleyball honor for their performances this season.

A nationwide voting committee selected the 2022 Off the Block All-Independent Team that was unveiled Wednesday on Off the Block.

The All-Independent Team recognizes the best players during the regular season from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball teams that are competing without a conference affiliation. The eight independent teams this season were American International, Alderson Broaddus, Daemen, D’Youville, Fairleigh Dickinson, Limestone, Lincoln Memorial, Long Island, Maryville, Queens or Tusculum.


Lincoln Memorial led all schools with five All-Independent Team selections. Limestone and Queens each also had three players make the All-Independent Team

Head coaches from the independent NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball teams comprised the voting committee for this award. The 16 players who received the most votes, regardless of their position, were placed on the All-Independent Team.

The top eight vote-getters were named First-Team All-Independent Team, while the next top eight vote-getters made the Second-Team All-Independent Team. A tie in the voting resulted in an additional first-team selection.

This is the fifth season that Off the Block has presented the All-Independent Team for NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball. Off the Block is a website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

Along with presenting the All-Independent Team, Off the Block presents the Independent Teams Player of the Year and the Independent Teams Freshman of the Year. The college men’s volleyball website also presented the Independent Teams Player of the Week throughout the regular season.

2022 Off the Block All-Independent Team

First-Team All-Independent Team
Setter: Kohl Kutsch, Lincoln Memorial
Setter: Paul Stommel, Limestone
Outside attacker: Jack Brinkman, Queens
Outside attacker: Cole Campisano, Lincoln Memorial
Outside attacker: Jack Lydon, Fairleigh Dickinson
Outside attacker: Johansen Negron, Lincoln Memorial
Outside attacker: Zach Schneider, Daemen
Outside attacker: Geraldo Rivera, Limestone
Middle attacker: Veit Bils, Limestone

Second-Team All-Independent Team
Setter: Shaun Kampshoff, Tusculum
Setter: Daniel Leitao, Queens
Opposite: Jake Whyte, Tusculum
Middle attacker: Jake Couzens, Daemen
Middle attacker: Matthew Gentry, Lincoln Memorial
Middle attacker: JP Payne, Queens
Middle attacker: Dawson Walker, Lincoln Memorial
Libero: Grady Hoffman, Fairleigh Dickinson