Ball State setter Isaacson wins 2022 Lloy Ball Award

Photo courtesy of Ball State athletics

Quinn Isaacson is capping off a college career with a major college men’s volleyball honor.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected the Ball State setter as the recipient of the 2022 Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award, which is named after the former Purdue Fort Wayne All-American and U.S. Olympian setter, is presented to the nation’s best setter in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Isaacson had a nation-best 11.42 assists per game average and guided the Ball State offense to the third-best attack percentage in the nation at .350. The setter also led Ball State and was third in the conference with a 0.36 aces per game average.


The voting committee for the Lloy Ball Award was comprised of about 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball media members from around the nation. The top-three vote-getters were named finalists.

Issaacson received 46 votes to edge out the runner-up Hawai’i setter Jakob Thelle by 25 votes. Along with the Hawai’i and Ball State setters, UCLA setter Miles Partain finished in third place with 15 points.

This is the ninth year that Off the Block has presented the Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation’s top opposite, the Erik Shoji Award to the nation’s top libero and the Ryan Millar Award to the nation’s top middle attacker.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2022 Lloy Ball Award voting results

1. Quinn Isaacson, Ball State – 46 votes
2. Jakob Thelle, Hawai’i – 21 votes
3. Miles Partain, UCLA – 15 votes
4. Bryce Dvorak, Pepperdine – 6 votes
5. Cole Bogner, Penn State – 4 votes
T-6. Nicholas Slight, Grand Canyon – 3 votes
T-6. Aidan Knipe, Long Beach State – 3 votes
8. Kevin Kauling, Lewis – 1 vote