Ball State opposite Mandilaris wins 2022 Bryan Ivie Award

Photo courtesy of Ball State athletics

Angelos Mandilaris was on a new team and sat out all last year with an injury, but that didn’t stop the Ball State opposite from putting up nation leading offensive numbers and earning a top college men’s volleyball honor.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Mandilaris as the recipient of the 2019 Bryan Ivie Award.

The Bryan Ivie Award, which is named after the former USC All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best opposite in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Mandilaris finished eighth in the nation with a 4.11 kills per game average and helped lead Ball State to the MIVA championship and the NCAA Tournament finals. The graduate transfer from Barton and three-time ConfCarolinas Player of the Year also had a .316 attack percentage and had double-digit kills in 14 regular season matches.


The voting committee for the Bryan Ivie Award was comprised of about 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Bryan Ivie Award.

Mandilaris received 43 votes – 32 more votes than any other player. USC opposite Simon Gallas finished in second place with 11 votes, while the other finalist UCLA opposite Kevin Korbine received 10 votes.

This is the seventh year that Off the Block has presented the Bryan Ivie Award.

The Bryan Ivie Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Lloy Ball Award to the nation’s top setter, Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Erik Shoji Award to the nation’s top libero and the Ryan Millar Award to the nation’s top middle attacker.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2022 Bryan Ivie Award voting results

1. Angelos Mandilaris, Ball State – 43 votes
2. Simon Gallas, USC – 11 votes
3. Kevin Kobrine, UCLA – 10 votes
T-4. Cal Fisher, Penn State – 9 votes
T-4. Parker Van Buren, Loyola – 9 votes
6. Jaylen Jasper, Stanford – 6 votes
T-7. Clarke Godbold, Long Beach State – 2 votes
T-7. AJ Lewis, Lindenwood – 2 votes

One Reply to “Ball State opposite Mandilaris wins 2022 Bryan Ivie Award”

  1. Should be the Brent Hillard Award… Ivy played middle a good part of his career… Let’s be serious about the all time ncaa mens career kill leader… Come on… No disrespect to Brian, he was an excellent player….

Comments are closed.