Lincoln Memorial opposite Cory named 2019 Independent Teams Player of Year

There was no doubt this year who was the top player among the NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball independent teams.

Off the Block announced Thursday that a nationwide voting committee unanimously selected Lincoln Memorial opposite Evan Cory as the 2019 Off the Block Independent Teams Player of the Year.

The Independent Teams Player of the Year recognizes the best player during the regular season from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball teams that are competing without a conference affiliation. The five independent teams this season were Alderson Broaddus, Coker, Daemen, Lincoln Memorial and Queens.

Cory finished the regular season eighth in the nation with a 4.05 kills per game average on a career-best .332 attack percentage. The junior had at least 20 kills in five matches, including a season-high 26 kills while hitting .512 in a five-game victory against Emmanuel in March.


Along with his offensive performances, Cory was third in the country averaging 0.60 aces per game and had a season-high six aces in an early-season win versus Belmont Abbey. He also was in the nation’s top 15 with a 1.10 blocks per game average.

The Railsplitters won a single-season program-record 16 matches and are ranked No. 5 in the Off the Block Division II National Coaches Poll entering the IVA Tournament this weekend. In addition, Lincoln Memorial concluded the regular season undefeated against the other independent teams.

Head coaches of NCAA Division I-II independent teams comprised the voting committee for the Independent Teams Player of the Year.

This is the fourth year that Off the Block has presented the Independent Teams Player of the Year. Cory finished as the runner-up for the award last season and earned a third-place finish in the voting as a freshman in 2017.

Off the Block is a website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

Along with presenting the Independent Teams Player of the Year, Off the Block presents the All-Independent Team and the Independent Teams Freshman of the Year. The college men’s volleyball website also presents the Independent Teams Player of the Week throughout the regular season.

Cory led all players winning the weekly award five times this season.

2019 Independent Teams Player of the Year voting

1. Evan Cory, Lincoln Memorial — 12 (4) points
T-2. Pedro Carvahlo, Lincoln Memorial — 2 points
T-2. JP Payne, Queens — 2 points
T-4. Cody Nix, Queens — 1 point
T-4. Joao Victor Santos, Coker — 1 point