UCLA, U.S. coach Speraw among 15 new inductees to SCIVB Hall of Fame

Don’t forget to now include hall of famer in all the accolades for coach John Speraw.

The head coach of UCLA and the U.S. Men’s National Team earlier this week was among the 15 individuals selected to the Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame.

Speraw guided the United States to the bronze medal at the 2016 Olympics and as an assistant coach helped the United States win the gold medal at the 2008 Olympics. The United States in Speraw’s five years as the head coach has climbed to No. 2 in the FIVB World Rankings and won the 2015 World Cup.


Along with his international coaching experience, Speraw replaced Hall of Fame coach Al Scates at UCLA in 2013 and led the Bruins to a NCAA Tournament semifinals appearance in 2016. In addition, UCLA opens this season ranked No. 4 in the national coaches poll.

Speraw before taking over the UCLA program guided UC Irvine to three NCAA championships from 2007 to 2012. He also played college volleyball at UCLA and earned NCAA All-Tournament Team honors as he helped the Bruins win the 1995 national championship.

Among the other individuals headlining the Class of 2018 includes Brent Hilliard, who was named the 1991 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and led Long Beach State to only championship in program history. Former USC All-American Pat Powers and UCLA All-American Steven Salmons — who were both members of the 1984 U.S. Men’s National Team that won an Olympic gold medal — also made the hall of fame this year.

The newest hall of fame members will be formally inducted into the hall of fame on Sunday, May 6 in Anaheim. This event will be one day following the NCAA Tournament finals that take place this year at UCLA.

Southern California Volleyball Hall of Fame (Class of 2018)

Mike Bright
Burt DeGroot
Scott Fortune
Brian Gimmillaro
Brent Hilliard
Flo Hyman
Ron Lang
Liz Masakayan
Nina Matthies
Elaina Oden
Pat Powers
Larry Rundle
Steve Salmons
John Speraw
Ernie Suwara