Ohio State’s Oman named new chairperson of NCAA selection committee

An Ohio State associate athletics director who helped select the NCAA Tournament field for the last two years will now be the chairperson of the selection committee.

The NCAA announced on its website during the weekend that Janine Oman was selected to head the NCA Division I-II men’s volleyball committee for the 2017 season.

Oman joined the three-person men’s volleyball committee in fall of 2014 as the Midwest region representative.


Along with her time on the committee, she has almost 30 years of experience in college athletics and oversees multiple teams at Ohio State including the women’s volleyball and defending-NCAA champion men’s volleyball programs. The Ohio State graduate with a background as an athletics trainer and physical therapist returned to her alma matar in 1996 after working in the North Carolina athletics department.

Oman will replace former chairman and George Mason assistant athletics director Ron Shayka, whose four-year term on the committee ends this fall. Shayka spent the last three years as the committee chairman and oversaw the NCAA Tournament expand from four teams to six teams beginning in 2014.

Similar to other NCAA committees, it is rare for a member to serve consecutive terms on a committee. A new East Coast representative to replace Shayka on the committee has not yet been announced.

Oman is entering the third year of her four-year term, while West Coast representative and UC Irvine senior associate athletics director Paula Smith begins the final year of her term.

Among the primary responsibilities for the men’s volleyball committee is to determine the two at-large birds and seeding for the annual NCAA Tournament. It also has other responsibilities ranging from approving rule changes and new procedures at the NCAA Tournament to participating in the process to decided future NCAA Tournament host sites.

The 2017 NCAA Tournament will take place at Ohio State.