Stanford middle Kaminski wins 2016 Ryan Millar Award

Stanford middle attacker Conrad Kaminski after spending the majority of the season among the nation’s leaders in both offensive and defensive categories is now the recipient for one of the newest college men’s volleyball national awards.

Off the Block announced Friday that a nationwide voting committee selected Kaminski as the inaugural winner of the Ryan Miller Award.

The Ryan Millar Award, which is named after the former BYU All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the best middle attacker in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Kaminski led the nation with a .487 attack percentage and had double-digit kills in nine regular season matches. In addition, the senior was second in nation with a 1.49 blocks per game average and had 15 matches with at least five blocks as Stanford narrowly missed an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament.


Kaminski received half of the 24 first-place votes from the nationwide voting committee comprised of coaches and volleyball media members.

Both Loyola middle attacker Jeff Jendryk and UCLA middle attacker Mitch Stahl finished in a tie as the runner-up for the Ryan Millar Award with 18 points — 29 fewer points than Kaminski.

The top-three vote-getters for this national award were named finalists.

The Ryan Millar Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Lloy Ball Award to the nation’s top setter, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation’s top opposite, the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Erik Shoji Award to the nation’s top libero, the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in January 2011.

1. Conrad Kaminski, Stanford — 47 (12) points
T-2. Jeff Jendryk, Loyola — 18 (2) points
T-2. Mitch Stahl, UCLA — 18 (3) points
4. Bobby Walsh, Lewis — 10 (1) points
T-5. Tommy Carmody, Pepperdine — 8 (2) points
T-5. Taylor Gregory, Long Beach State — 8 (1) points
7. Michael Hatch, BYU — 6 (1) points
8. Price Jarman, BYU — 5 points
T-9. Luke Grupe, Coker — 3 (1) points
T-9. Driss Guessous, Ohio State — 3 points
T-9. Jarrod Kelso, Quincy — 3 points
T-9. Mike Marshman, St. Francis — 3 (1) points
T-13. Jason Agopian, UC Irvine — 1 point
T-13. Fabio Diniz, Pfeiffer — 1 point
T-13. Enrique de Diego Garcia, Cal Baptist — 1 point