USC’s Christenson, Pepperdine’s West named co-winners of Lloy Ball Award

The closest vote in the history of the Lloy Ball Award ended in a tie between two All-American setters.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected USC setter Micah Christenson and Pepperdine sette Matt West as the co-winners of the 2015 Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award is given to the nation’s best setter in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Christenson ended the regular season seventh in the nation with a 10.59 assists per game average and led the MPSF with a 0.43 aces per game average. The All-American senior and 2014 Lloy Ball Award winner also helped lead the Trojans to a top-four finish in the MPSF.


West had a nation-best 1,102 assists and was third in the nation with a 11.24 assists per game average. The All-American senior also guided the Waves’ offense to the nation’s fourth-best attack percentage at .341 as Pepperdine earned a top-three seed for the MPSF Tournament.

Both Christenson and West finished tied with 65 votes. In addition, Christenson received 16 first-place votes, while West received 13 first-place votes.

Loyola setter Peter Hutz, the other finalist for the Lloy Ball Award, finished in third place with 31 votes and four first-place votes.

The voting committee for the Lloy Ball award was comprised of more than 30 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The annual award is named after the former U.S. Olympian and IPFW All-American setter Lloy Ball.

This is the second year Off the Block has presented the Lloy Ball Award. It is also the first time that any national award presented by Off the Block has finished in a tie.

The Lloy Ball Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation’s top opposite, Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in January 2011.

T-1. Micah Christenson, USC — 65 (16) votes
T-1. Matt West, Pepperdine — 65 (13) votes
3. Peter Hutz, Loyola — 31 (4) votes
4. Jennings Franciskovic, Hawai’i — 8 (1) votes
5. David Specian, Pfeiffer — 7 votes
T-6. Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara — 6 votes
T-6. Michael Saeta, UC Irvine — 6 votes
8. James Shaw, Stanford — 5 votes
9. Omar Rivera, IPFW — 3 (1) votes