Three finalists announced for inaugural Bryan Ivie Award

A nationwide voting committee selected Pepperdine opposite Parker Kalmbach, UC Irvine opposite Zack La Cavera and Hawai’i opposite Brook Sedore as the finalists for the inaugural Bryan Ivie Award.

The Bryan Ivie Award is given to the nation’s best opposite in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Kalmbach led the MPSF and was sixth in the nation with a 4.11 kills per game average, including having at least 20 kills in six matches. The senior was also second on the Waves with both a 1.91 digs per game average and 72 blocks as Pepperdine earned a top-three seed for the MPSF Tournament.

La Cavera was second in the MPSF and among the nation’s top 15 with a 3.72 kills per game average. In addition, the senior had a conference-best 41 aces while adding a career-high 85 blocks and 1.31 digs per game average to help the Anteaters win the MPSF regular season championship.


Sedore finished the regular season sixth in the MPSF and among the national leaders with a 3.46 kills per game average. The senior was also fourth in the conference with a 0.40 aces per game average and third on the Rainbow Warriors with a 1.46 digs per game average as he helped Hawai’i earn the No. 2 seed for the upcoming MPSF Tournament.

The voting committee for the Bryan Ivie Award was comprised of more than 30 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The new college men’s volleyball award is named after the former U.S. Olympian and USC All-American opposite Bryan Ive.

The overall winner of the inaugural Bryan Ivie Award will be announced Wednesday, April 29.

The Bryan Ivie Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Lloy Ball Award to the nation’s top setter, the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker, the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning college men’s volleyball website that launched in January 2011.

Finalists (listed alphabetically)

Parker Kalmbach, Pepperdine
Zack La Cavera, UC Irvine
Brook Sedore, Hawai’i

Other receiving votes
4. Cody Kessel, Princeton
5. Eric Fitterer, Lewis
T-6. Nick Goodell, Penn State
T-6. Colin Hackworth, Lindenwood
T-6. Andrew Sellan, IPFW
T-9. Arthur Carbal, Coker
T-9. Michael Michelau, Erskine
11. Ben Plaisted, Loyola