EIVA announces 2014 Player of the Year, all-conference teams

Penn State outside attacker Aaron Russell for the second consecutive year earned the conference’s top individual honor.

The EIVA announced Tuesday afternoon that Russell was selected as the 2014 Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Player of the Year.

Russell finished the regular season leading the conference with a 3.95 kills per game average. The junior also had a conference-best 0.67 aces per game average and was named a finalist for the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year as he helped lead Penn State to the EIVA regular season title.


Penn State led all teams with six players earning all-conference honors. In addition, Harvard had five players and had Princeton four players selected to an All-EIVA Team

Along with the all-conference honors, George Mason coach Fred Chao was named the Bob Sweeney EIVA Coach of the Year and George Mason outside attacker Radoslav Popov earned the EIVA Newcomer of the Year.

Check out what players earned the top individual awards and All-EIVA honors.

Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Player of the Year: Aaron Russell, Penn State
EIVA Newcomer of the Year: Radoslav Popov, George Mason
Bob Sweeney EIVA Coach of the Year: Fred Chao, George Mason

Setter: Taylor Hammond, Penn State
Opposite: Nick Goodell, Penn State
Opposite: Cody Kessel, Princeton
Opposite: Nick Madden, Harvard
Outside attacker: Radoslav Popov, George Mason
Outside attacker: Aaron Russell, Penn State
Outside attacker: DJ White, Harvard
Middle attacker: Mark Kochan, St. Francis
Middle attacker: Caleb Zimmick, Harvard
Libero: Tony Ensbury, Princeton

Setter: Nick Bendell, Harvard
Opposite: Mike Marshman, St. Francis
Outside attacker: Brad Borsay, Sacred Heart
Outside attacker: Peter Russell, Penn State
Outside attacker: Pat Schwagler, Princeton
Outside attacker: Devin Stearns, Princeton
Middle attacker: Kyle Rehkemper, Harvard
Middle attacker: Matt Seifert, Penn State
Middle attacker: Hunter Stevens, George Mason
Libero: Connor Curry, Penn State