Host sites unveiled for men’s volleyball NCAA Tournaments in 2015-18

The locations for future men’s volleyball NCAA Tournaments are now set.

The NCAA announced Wednesday afternoon that it awarded NCAA Tournament hosting bids to Stanford in 2015, Penn State in 2016, Ohio State in 2017 and UCLA in 2018.

All four schools selected as sites have experience playing host to the men’s volleyball NCAA Tournament, which is annually played the first week of May.


Stanford earned its bid after playing host to the program’s first NCAA Tournaemnt in 2010. The Cardinal also won the NCAA championship that year and remain the last school to win a national title on its home court.

This will be the fifth consecutive time the East Coast bid for the NCAA Tournament went to Penn State. The Nittany Lions have reached the NCAA Tournament for 15 straight seasons and had a near sold-out Rec Hall when they hosted the national championship match in 2006.

Ohio State was awarded its first NCAA Tournament since hosting the event in 2007. The Buckeyes have hosted the event four previous times and have seen an attendance increase for last two NCAA championship matches played in Columbus, Ohio.

UCLA with its latest bid will now have played host to the NCAA Tournament a record 15 times. In addition, the Bruins played host to the most recent NCAA Tournament in May, which was one of the highest attended men’s volleyball NCAA Tournaments played on a neutral court in recent history.

The four NCAA Tournament bid winners were selected from a pool of seven finalists that included BYU, IPFW and USC.

The 2014 college men’s volleyball season begins in January and concludes with the NCAA Tournament semifinals and finals in Chicago.