MIVA announces Player of the Year, all-conference teams

Loyola after getting a share of the MIVA regular season championship has now picked up the top two individual conference awards.

The MIVA announced Wednesday that Loyola outside attacker Joseph Smalzer was selected as the 2013 MIVA Player of the Year, while freshman outside attacker Thomas Jaeschke was the 2013 MIVA Freshman of the Year.

Smalzer, a junior, finished the regular season leading the nation with 64 aces and was in the nation’s top 10 averaging 3.81 kills per game. In addition, Smalzer and Jaeschke both earned First-Team All-MIVA honors.


Lewis, Ball State and Ohio State led all teams with four all-conference selections. The Cardinals also had a conference-best three players make the First-Team All-MIVA.

Check out what players and coaches received 2013 All-MIVA honors.

MIVA Player of the Year:
Joseph Smalzer, Loyola
MIVA Freshman of the Year: Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola
MIVA Coach of the Year: Joel Walton, Ball State

Setter: BJ Boldog, Lewis
Outside attacker: Jamion Hartley, Ball State
Outside attacker: Michael Henchy, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Greg Herceg, Ball State
Outside attacker: Thomas Jaescke, Loyola
Outside attacker: Geoff Powell, Lewis
Outside attacker: Eddie Rivera, IPFW
Outside attacker: Joseph Smalzer, Loyola
Middle attacker: Kevin Owens, Ball State
Libero: Brennan Anderson, Ohio State
Libero: Tommy Rouse, Ball State

Outside attacker: Colin Hackworth, Lindenwood
Outside attacker: Andrew Lutz, Ohio State
Outside attacker: Ryan Mather, Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: Jay Petty, Lewis
Outside attacker: Ben Ponnet, Grand Canyon
Outside attacker: John Tholen, Ohio State
Middle attacker: Matt Leske, Ball State
Middle attacker: Scott Siwicki, Lindenwood
Middle attacker: Bobby Walsh, Lewis