Pfeiffer sweeps Mount Olive to win Conference Carolinas championship

Pfeiffer for the first time in its program history is Conference Carolinas champions.

Outside attacker Caleb Brophy had a match-high 17 kills as Pfeiffer swept Mount Olive 25-23, 25-23, 25-21 in the Conference Carolinas championship match on Wednesday in Misenheimer, N.C.

Pfeiffer (21-6) out-hit Mount Olive .344 to .205 in the victory and had two player with double-digit kills. Along with Brophy, outside attacker Quentin Moore, the 2012 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year, added 11 kills.


Pfeiffer middle attacker Michael McLaughlin also had seven kills and match-high five blocks against Mount Olive (17-14).

Outside attacker Adam Miracle in the loss led Mount Olive with 12 kills.

The Falcons were the Conference Carolinas regular season championships and earned the No. 1 seed for the two-round conference tournament.

Pfeiffer defated Lees-McRae in four games Sunday in the semifinals to set up a match against the two-time defending conference championships Mount Olive. Mount Olive as the No. 4 seed upset Limestone in its semifinals match.

The Conference Carolinas, which is comprised of Division II schools, in 2009 became the first multi-sport conference to sponsor men’s volleyball. As an emerging men’s volleyball conference, the Conference Carolinas Tournament championships will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament starting in 2014.