Ohio State rallies to win fourth straight MIVA title, advances to Final Four

Ohio State was able to overcome an early deficit to win its record fourth consecutive conference title and advance to the Final Four.

Ohio State defeated Loyola 21-25, 25-22, 25-16, 25-17 in the MIVA Tournament championship match on Saturday in Columbus, Ohio, to receive conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

With this victory, Ohio State (24-6, 11-1 MIVA) becomes the second MIVA team in more to win four consecutive conference championships. Ball State won five consecutive MIVA titles between 1964-68.

This was the second consecutive season the Buckeyes rallied from an early deficit win the championship. Ohio State overcame a 2-1 deficit to win in five game in the MIVA championship match last season against Loyola.


The men’s volleyball NCAA Tournament is comprised of four teams — the three conference champions and one at-large team.

The Buckeyes were the second team to clinch a spot in the NCAA Tournament on Saturday. Penn State swept Springfield College to win its 13th consecutive EIVA championship.

Ohio State will likely be the No. 2 or No. 3 seed for the NCAA Tournament depending on the winner of the MPSF Tournament championship match tonight between USC and UC Santa Barbara. The at-large bid and seeding for the Final Four will be announced Sunday afternoon.

Both NCAA semifinals will be Thursday and winners will advance to the national championship match Saturday.