AVCA releases 2011 men’s volleyball All-American teams

The American Volleyball Coaches Association announced its men’s volleyball Division I-II All-American teams on Thursday.

USC led all teams with three All-American selections — two First-Team All-Americans and a Second-Team All-American.

The Trojans became the first team in 16 years to be ranked No. 1 from the preseason through the end of the regular season. All six of its starters also received all-conference accolades last week.

Along with USC, Penn State and BYU had three All-American selections. The Nittany Lions and Cougars both had a First-Team All-American and two Second-Team All-Americans.


UC Santa Barbara, Stanford and UC Irvine all had two players named All-Americans.

A voting committee comprised of nine men’s volleyball coaches selected the All-American teams. The committee included Penn State coach Mark Pavlik, George Mason coach Fred Chao, Loyola coach Shane Davis, USC coach Bill Ferguson, Lewis coach Dan Friend, Stanford coach John Kotsy, UC Santa Barbara coach UC Santa Barbara, St. Francis coach Mike Rumbaugh and Ball State coach Joel Walton.

Check out the players who received All-American honors this year.

Overall national awards

AVCA Men’s Volleyball Newcomer of the Year: Taylor Sander, BYU
AVCA National Player of the Year: To be announced next week.

First-Team All-American

Opposite: Brad Lawson, Stanford
Opposite: Murphy Troy, USC
Opposite: Jonas Umlauft, Hawai’i
Outside attacker: Jeff Menzel, UC Santa Barbara
Outside attacker: Joe Sunder, Penn State
Outside attacker: Corey Yoder, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Futi Tavana, BYU
Setter: Steven Kehoe, Ohio State
Setter: Riley McKibbin, USC
Libero: Erik Shoji, Stanford

Second-Team All-American

Opposite: Carson Clark, UC Irvine
Opposite: Robb Stowell, BYU
Outside attacker: Mike Bunting, Loyola
Outside attacker: Tony Ciarelli, USC
Outside attacker: Taylor Sander, BYU
Middle attacker: Antwain Aguillard, Long Beach State
Middle attacker: Anders Nelson, Ball State
Setter: Edgardo Goas, Penn State
Libero: Dennis Del Valle, Penn State
Libero: Andy McGuire, UC Santa Barbara

For more on the AVCA All-American teams, check out the complete news release on the AVCA website