2011 All-MPSF men’s volleyball teams released

USC’s domination of the MPSF in the regular season continued with the conference awards.

All six USC starters received All-MPSF accolades and outside attacker Murphy Troy was named the MPSF Player of the Year as the MPSF announced its all-conference awards Thursday.

Troy, a senior, led the Trojans with 309 kills and finishing in the nation’s top 15 with a 4.01 kills per game average. Along with Troy, outside attacker Tony Ciarelli and setter Riley McKibbin received First-Team All-MPSF honors.

Outside attacker Tri Bourne and middle attacker Steven Shandrick were named to the second team, while middle attacker Austin Zahn and libero Henry Cassiday received honorable mentions.

USC (21-2, 20-2 MPSF) won the MPSF regular season title and became the first team in more than 15 years to be ranked No. 1 from the preseason through the end of the regular season.


In addition to the player awards, USC coach Bill Ferguson was named the MPSF Coach of the Year.

Check out the players and coaches who received the conference accolades this season.

Overall conference awards

MPSF Player of the Year: Murphy Troy, USC
MPSF Freshman of the Year: Taylor Sander, BYU
MPSF Coach of the Year: Bill Ferguson, USC

First-Team All-MPSF

Opposite: Murphy Troy, USC
Opposite: Jonas Umlauft, Hawai’i
Opposite: Carson Clark, UC Irvine
Opposite: Robb Stowell, BYU
Outside attacker: Cory Yoder, UC Irvine
Outside attacker: Brad Lawson, Stanford
Outside attacker: Taylor Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Jeff Menzel, UC Santa Barbara
Outside attacker: Tony Ciarelli, USC
Middle attacker: Futi Tavana, BYU
Middle attacker: Antwain Aguillard, Long Beach State
Setter: Riley McKibbin, USC

Second-Team All-MPSF

Outside attacker: Josh Walker, Hawai’i
Outside attacker: Spencer McLachlin, Stanford
Outside attacker: Tri Bourne, USC
Outside attacker: Jordan DuFault, UC Irvine
Outside attacker: Gonzalo Quiroga, UCLA
Middle attacker: Weston Dunlap, UCLA
Middle attacker: Steven Shandrick, USC
Middle attacker: Scott Slaughter, UC Santa Barbara
Setter: Phil Bannan, UC San Diego
Setter: Nejc Zemljak, Hawai’i
Libero: Erik Shoji, Stanford
Libero: Andy McGuire, UC Santa Barbara

All-MPSF honorable mentions

Opposite: Taylor Hughes, Pacific
Outside attacker: Taylor Crabb, Long Beach State
Middle attacker: Thomas Amberg, UCLA
Middle attacker: Austin Zahn, USC
Setter: Joe Kauliakamoa, BYU
Setter: Vince Devany, UC Santa Barbara
Libero: Kirk Francis, Long Beach State
Libero: Henry Cassiday, USC
Libero: Javier Caceres, Pacific

All-MPSF Freshman Team

Outside attacker: Taylor Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Gonzalo Quiroga, UCLA
Outside attacker: Taylor Crabb, Long Beach State
Middle attacker: Eric Mochalski, Stanford
Middle attacker: Scott Kevorken, UC Irvine
Middle attacker: Greg Faulkner, Cal State Northridge
Libero: Henry Cassiday, USC