2011 All-EIVA teams released

For the fourth consecutive season, a Penn State men’s volleyball player was the named the EIVA Player of the Year.

Outside attacker Joe Sunder was named the Uvaldo Acosta EIVA Player of the Year on Thursday after leading the conference and being third in the nation with a 4.63 kills per game average.

Sunder was also one of six Penn State players named an All-EIVA team, which were released along with the player of the year award.

Sunder, setter Edgardo Goas, libero Dennis Del Valle and middle attacker Nick Turko was named to the First-Team All-EIVA. In addition, outside attackers Tom Comfort and Jace Olsen were named to the second team.


Penn State (22-6, 10-0 EIVA) won its 13th consecutive EIVA regular season title and received a bye into the EIVA Tournament semifinals.

Check out what players and coaches made the 2011 All-EIVA teams.

Overall conference awards

Uvaldo Acosta Player of the Year: Joe Sunder, Penn State
Newcomer of the Year: Connor Mortland, NYU
Bob Sweeney Coach of the Year: Kevin Moore, Juniata

First-Team All-EIVA

Opposite: Alberto Bravo, Springfield
Opposite: Mark Jones, George Mason
Outside attacker: Joe Sunder, Penn State
Middle attacker: Greg Falcone, Springfield
Middle attacker: Cal Palumbo, Springfield
Middle attacker: Nick Turko, Penn State
Setter: Edgardo Goas, Penn State
Setter: Brandon Joyner, George Mason
Setter: Jeff Zornig, Rutgers-Newark
Libero: Dennis Del Valle, Penn State

Second-Team All-EIVA

Opposite: Tom Comfort, Penn State
Opposite: Austin Pappas, Rutgers-Newark
Outside attacker: Taylor Faunteroy, NYU
Outside attacker: Enzo Mackenzie, Sacred Heart
Outside attacker: Jace Olsen, Penn State
Outside attacker: Chris Vrooman, Juniata
Middle attacker: Shaun Sibley, George Mason
Middle attacker: Ben Wolff, Juniata
Setter: Connor Mortland, NYU
Libero: John Wappler, St. Francis