Ohio State unanimous No. 1 in season’s final national media poll

The NCAA champions will end the season as the unanimous No. 1 in the media poll.

Ohio State received every first-place vote in the season’s final Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Media Poll that was released Wednesday.

The back-to-back national champions Ohio State swept BYU in the NCAA Tournament finals on Saturday to win the program’s third national title this decade. In addition, the Buckeyes following an undefeated postseason jumped one spot from the last national media poll released at the end of the regular season.


Along with Ohio State, all four teams that reached the NCAA Tournament semifinals finished in the top four of the national rankings.

Long Beach State dropped two spots to No. 3 following its semifinal loss to BYU, which moved to No. 2. Hawai’i also ends the season at No. 4 in the national rankings.

The Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Media Poll is the only rankings in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball solely determined by media members. The 10 teams receiving the most votes are ranked in the National Media Poll, while other schools earning votes but finishing outside of the top 10 are considered teams receiving votes.

A new media poll is released each week during the regular season on the Off the Block website and the final poll of the season is released following the NCAA Tournament.

Off the Block is a website that started in January 2011 and has become the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage. Springbak, Inc. is the official sponsor of the National Media Poll and produces high performance footwear used by professional athletes from the NFL, NBA, MLB and U.S. Olympic teams and the top college teams in the nation.

1. Ohio State — 90 (9) points
2. BYU — 81 points
3. Long Beach State — 72 points
4. Hawai’i — 63 points
5. UC Irvine — 54 points
6. UCLA — 44 points
7. Lewis — 33 points
8. Pepperdine — 22 points
9. Stanford — 13 points
10. Penn State — 9 points
Others receiving votes: Grand Canyon 7; Ball State 3; Barton 2; Loyola 1; USC 1