College players to battle for inaugural USA Volleyball beach championship

Ten college men’s volleyball programs will be represented in a tournament to determine the best collegiate pair in the nation.

The inaugural USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championship begins today in Hermosa Beach, California, and will feature 11 pairs competing for the national title.

Among the schools with players on a team includes Hawai’i, Lewis, Long Beach State, Sacred Heart, UC Irvine, UCLA and USC. In addition, several players from non-NCAA Division I-II programs such as Davenport, Cincinnati Christian, Palomar College and Mount St. Joseph are participating in the national event.


The three-day event opens with two days of pool-play. The play-in match and four quarterfinal matches will take place on Friday afternoon, while the semifinals will be played on Saturday morning.

The gold-medal match will take place on Saturday afternoon. It also is scheduled to air tape delayed on NBCSN between 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. (CST).

Men’s Pairs: 2017 USA Volleyball Collegiate Beach Championships
Nathan Vander Meer and Logan Webber (Davenport/Cincinnati Christian)
Brett Rosenmeier and Colton Cowell (Hawai’i)
Matt Yoshimoto and Jake Walenga (Lewis)
Louis Richard and Matt Butler (Long Beach State)
Alex Vohland and Brett Cooper (Mount St. Joseph)
Tyler Hedley and Vincent Pizzuti (Palomar College/Long Beach State)
Brian Ross and Bobby Costigan (Sacred Heart)
Lucas Yoder and Michael Saeta (USC/UC Irvine)
Grant Friedman and Scott Stadick (UC Irvine)
Reid Dominguez and Dillon Hoffman (UC Irvine)
Jackson Bantle and Hagen Smith (UCLA)