Penn State’s Russell wins third straight EIVA Player of Year award

Add another conference record to the college resume Penn State outside attacker Aaron Russell.

The All-American senior on Monday became the second player in the conference’s history to win three consecutive Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Player of the Year.

Russell led the conference with both a 4.65 kills per game average and 53 aces. He also was in the EIVA’s top 10 with a .380 attack percentage and 1.80 digs per game average as Penn State went undefeated in conference play to win the EIVA regular season title.


Penn State alum José Quiñones was the only other player before Russell to win three straight conference player of the year awards.

Along with Russell, EIVA coaches voted George Mason setter Brian Negron as the 2015 EIVA Newcomer of the Year. In addition, Penn State coach Mark Pavlik was named the Bob Sweeney EIVA Coach of the Year.

Penn State led all EIVA schools with five players earning all-conference honors.

Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Player of the Year: Aaron Russell, Penn State
EIVA Newcomer of the Year: Brian Negron, George Mason
Bob Sweeney EIVA Coach of the Year: Mark Pavlik, Penn State

Setter: Brian Negron, George Mason
Opposite: Branden Clemens, Harvard
Opposite: Cody Kessel, Princeton
Outside attacker: Enzo Mackenzie, Sacred Heart
Outside attacker: Aaron Russell, Penn State
Outside attacker: DJ White, Harvard
Middle attacker: Mike Marshman St. Francis
Middle attacker: Junior Oboh, Princeton
Middle attacker: Caleb Zimmick, Harvard
Libero: Connor Curry, Penn State

Setter: Taylor Hammond, Penn State
Setter: Chris Kennedy, Princeton
Opposite: Nick Goodell, Penn State
Outside attacker: Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT
Outside attacker: Radoslav Popov, George Mason
Middle attacker: Will Siroky, Princeton
Middle attacker: Hunter Stevens, George Mason
Middle attacker: Ryan Thomas, NJIT
Middle attacker: Travis Vonholt, Sacred Heart
Libero: Oren Zyndorf, NJIT