UCLA middle McHenry wins 2024 Ryan Millar Award

Photo by Vinnie Lopes

Merrick McHenry repeated as a national champion and has now repeated as top middle attacker in the nation.

Off the Block announced Wednesday that a nationwide voting committee for the second consecutive year selected the UCLA middle attacker as the winner of the Ryan Millar Award.

The Ryan Millar Award, which is named after the former BYU All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best middle attacker in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

McHenry had a career-high .585 attack percentage and had nine matches with double-digit kills, including 10 kills on a .818 attack percentage against Long Beach State in the NCAA Tournament finals. The middle attacker also was in the nation’s top 15 with a 0.99 blocks per game average and had a career-high 38 aces.


The voting committee for the Ryan Millar Award was comprised of more than 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Ryan Millar Award.

McHenry received 46 votes to edge out the runner-up Long Beach State middle attacker Simon Torwie by 13 votes. Penn State middle attacker Toby Ezeonu finished in third place with 21 votes.

Both Torwie and Ezeonu also were finalists for the Ryan Millar Award last season.

This is the ninth year that Off the Block has presented the Ryan Millar Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2024 Ryan Millar Award voting results

1. Merrick McHenry, UCLA – 46 votes
2. Simon Torwie, Long Beach State – 33 votes
3. Toby Ezeonu, Penn State – 21 votes
4. Cameron Thorne, Grand Canyon – 15 votes
5. Matthew Gentry, Lincoln Memorial – 3 votes
T-6. Guilherme Voss, Hawai’i – 1 vote
T-6. Cole Young, Ohio State – 1 vote