UC Irvine outside Henno wins 2024 Karch Kiraly Award

Photo by Vinnie Lopes

UC Irvine outside attacker Hilir Henno is picking up yet another national accolade.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Henno as the recipient of the 2024 Karch Kiraly Award..

The Karch Kiraly Award, which is named after the former UCLA All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best outside attacker in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Henno finished second in the nation with a 4.76 kills game average and had at least 20 kills in 10 matches, including a career-high 36 kills against Hawai’i in March. The AVCA National Player of the Year and French native also was eighth in the nation with a career-high .373 attack percentage.


Along with the offensive performance, Henno was in the nation’s top 20 averaging 0.42 aces per game.

The voting committee for the Karch Kiraly Award was comprised of more than 20 coaches and media members from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Karch Kiraly Award.

Henno garnered 68 votes and had more votes than all other players combined. UCLA outside attacker Ethan Champlin finished in second place with 18 votes, while Ohio State outside attacker Jacob Pasteur ended in third place with seven voes.

This is the 10th year that Off the Block has presented the Karch Kiraly Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2023 Karch Kiraly Award voting results

1. Hilir Henno, UC Irvine – 68 votes
2. Ethan Champlin, UCLA – 18 votes
3. Jacob Pasteur, Ohio State – 7 votes
4. Sotiris Siapanis, Long Beach State – 4 votes
T-5. Spyros Chakas, Hawai’i – 3 votes
T-5. Kyle Hobus, CSUN – 3 votes
T-7. Jon Diedrich, Purdue Fort Wayne – 1 vote
T-7. Mark Frazier, Purdue Fort Wayne – 1 vote
T-7. Camden Gianni, Grand Canyon – 1 vote
T-7. Ben Harrington, Princeton – 1 vote
T–7. Patrick Rogers, Ball State – 1 vote
T-7. Will Rottman, Stanford – 1 vote