Quincy oppo Alleyne named 2024 Division II National Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Quincy athletics

A National Player of the Year for the first time in its program history now resides at Quincy.

Off the Block announced Sunday that a nationwide voting committee selected Quincy opposite Raje Alleyne as the 2024 Division II National Player of the Year.

The Division II National Player of the Year is awarded to the nation’s best player on a NCAA Division II men’s volleyball team during the regular season. While Division I and Division II schools compete for the same national championship and individual awards, this award is the only national player of the year solely for Division II players.


Alleyne led all Division II players and was fourth in the nation with a 4.41 kills per game average on a career-best .311 attack percentage. The opposite had double-digit kills in all but three matches during the regular season, including setting a single-match school record during the rally scoring error with 33 kills against Maryville in March.

A voting committee of more than 20 men’s volleyball coaches and volleyball media members from around the nation determined the winner of the Division II National Player of the Year. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the national honor.

Alleyne received 26 votes to edge out the runner-up Daemen outside attacker Zach Scheider by four votes. Lewis outside attacker Max Roquet finished in third place with 17 votes.

This is the eighth year that Off the Block has presented the Division II National Player of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2024 Division II National Player of the Year voting results

1. Raje Alleyne, Quincy – 26 votes
2. Zach Schneider, Daemen – 22 votes
3. Max Roquet, Lewis – 18 vote
4. Isaiah Fedd, Fort Valley State – 11 votes
T-5. Matthew Gentry Lincoln Memorial – 8 votes
T-5. Kevin Schuele, McKendree – 8 votes
7. Kohl Kutsch, Lincoln Memorial – 6 votes
8. Jibriel Elhaddad, Belmont Abbey – 4 votes
T-9. Jacob Fischer, Maryville – 1 vote
T-9. Joseph Morris, Belmont Abbey – 1 vote
T-9. Tyrone Sands, Central State – 1 vote
T-9. Matthew Staskunas, Belmont Abbey – 1 vote
T-9. Logan Taylor, North Greenville, 1 vote