Loyola opposite Van Buren wins 2024 Bryan Ivie Award

Photo courtesy of Loyola athletics

Add another national accolade to the list for Loyola opposite Parker Van Buren.

Off the Block announced Friday that a nationwide voting committee selected Van Buren as the recipient of the 2023 Bryan Ivie Award.

The Bryan Ivie Award, which is named after the former USC All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best opposite in NCAA men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Van Buren finished fifth in the nation with a 4.28 kills per game on a career-high .364 attack percentage. The opposite also had at least 20 kills and hit more than .300 in five matches, including having 20 kills on a .410 attack percentage in a road victory against Hawai’i.


The voting committee for the Bryan Ivie Award was comprised of more than 20 coaches and media members from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Bryan Ivie Award.

A tie in the voting resulted in four finalists this season for the Bryan Ivie Award.

Van Buren received 29 votes and edged out UC Santa Barbara opposite Geste Bianchi by one vote to win the Bryan Ivie Award. Both Grand Canyon pin-hitter Camden Gianni and Penn State opposite John Kerr finished in third place with 21 votes

This is the ninth year that Off the Block has presented the Bryan Ivie Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2024 Bryan Ivie Award voting results

1. Parker Van Buren, Loyola – 29 votes
2. Geste Bianchi, UC Santa Barbara – 28 votes
T-3. Camden Gianni, Grand Canyon – 21 votes
T-3. John Kerr, Penn State – 21 votes
5. Raje Alleyne, Quincy – 7 votes
6. Nathan Zini, Saint Francis – 6 votes
7. Skyler Varga, Long Beach State – 3 votes
T-8. Jamal Ellis Carballo, Fairleigh Dickinson – 2 votes
T-8. Jalen Phillips, CSUN – 2 votes
10. Cole Ketrzynski, Pepperdine – 1 vote