Long Beach libero Briggs wins 2024 Steve Shondell Award

Photo courtesy of Long Beach athletics

Add one more major national award to the college career of Long Beach State libero Mason Briggs.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Briggs as the winner of the 2024 Steve Shondell Award.

The Steve Shondell Award is presented to the nation’s best passer in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season. The award is named after the Hall of Fame coach and former Ball State setter Steve Shondell.

Briggs had a team-high 664 receptions and had a 96.1 percent successful passing rating as Long Beach State advanced to the NCAA Tournament finals. The libero also did not commit a reception error in 13 matches, including having no errors in the NCAA Tournament quarterfinals and semifinals.


This is the second time in the last three years that Briggs won the Steve Shondell Award. In addition, Briggs was a finalist for the award last season.

The voting committee for the Steve Shondell Award was comprised of more than 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Steve Shondell Award.

Briggs received 52 votes to edge out the runner-up UC Irvine libero Cole Power by 29 votes. Penn State libero Ryan Merk finished in third place with 16 votes.

This is the fifth year that Off the Block has presented the Steve Shondell Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2024 Steve Shondell Award voting results

1. Mason Briggs, Long Beach State – 52 votes
2. Cole Power, UC Irvine – 23 votes
3. Ryan Merk, Penn State – 16 votes
4. Ethan Champlin, UCLA – 8 votes
5. Thomas Poole, Ohio State – 4 votes
T-6. Zac Clark, Maryville – 3 vote
T-6. Kevin Schuele, McKendree – 3 votes
8. Diego Cardona, Fort Valley State – 2 votes
T-9. Trey Cole, Pepperdine – 1 vote
T-9. Grady Hoffman, Fairleigh Dickinson – 1 vote
T-9. Alejandro Leon, Belmont Abbey – 1 vote
T-9. Jacob Reilly, Concordia – 1 vote