Ohio State outside Pasteur wins 2023 Karch Kiraly Award

Photo courtesy of the NCAA

Add one more national accolade to the list of honors this season for Jacob Pasteur.

Off the Block announced Wednesday that a nationwide voting committee selected the Ohio State outside attacker as the recipient of the 2023 Karch Kiraly Award..

The Karch Kiraly Award, which is named after the former UCLA All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best outside attacker in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.


Pasteur finished the season in the nation’s top 15 with a 3.90 kills per game average and had at least 15 kills in 14 matches. The MIVA Player of the Year also was in the conference’s 10 with both a .313 attack percentage and a 1.70 digs per game average as Ohio State won its first MIVA championship in five years.

The voting committee for the Karch Kiraly Award was comprised of 30 coaches and media members from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Karch Kiraly Award.

Pasteur earned 46 votes to edge out the runner-up Hawai’i outside attacker Spyros Chakas by 14 votes. UCLA outside attacker Ethan Champlin finished in third place with 15 votes.

This is the ninth year that Off the Block has presented the Karch Kiraly Award.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2023 Karch Kiraly Award voting results

1. Jacob Pasteur, Ohio State – 46 votes
2. Spyros Chakas, Hawai’i – 32 votes
3. Ethan Champlin, UCLA – 19 votes
4. Alex Knight, UCLA – 15 votes
5. Hilir Henno, UC Irvine – 10 votes
T-6. Ras Jesse Delancy, Benedict – 6 votes
T-6. Sotiris Siapanis, Long Beach State – 6 votes
T-8. Will Rottman, Stanford – 3 votes
T-8. Brett Wildman, Penn State – 3 votes
T-10. Michal Kowal, Penn State – 2 votes
T-10. Spencer Olivier, Long Beach State – 2 votes
T-10. Jon Diedrich, Purdue Fort Wayne – 2 votes