Lewis middle Mitchem wins 2022 Ryan Millar Award

Photo by T.J. Breshears

Year four of a finalist for a national college men’s volleyball award, and Lewis middle attacker Tyler Mitchem finally broke through.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Mitchem as the winner of the 2022 Ryan Millar Award.

The Ryan Millar Award, which is named after the former BYU All-American and U.S. Olympian, is presented to the nation’s best middle attacker in NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball during the regular season.

Mitchem was seventh in the nation with a .438 attack percentage and had a career-high 3.19 kills per game average. The middle attacker also was third in the nation averaging 1.34 blocks per game, including having six blocks in an upset sweep against UCLA in January.


The voting committee for the Ryan Millar Award was comprised of about 20 college men’s volleyball head coaches and volleyball reporters from around the nation. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the Ryan Millar Award.

Mitchem received 54 votes – more votes than the other two finalists had combined. UCLA middle attacker Merrick McHenry finished in second place with 18 votes, and Hawai’i middle attacker Guilherme Voss ended in the third place with 15 votes

This is the seventh year that Off the Block has presented the Ryan Millar Award.

Off the Block presents several end of season awards. Among the other national awards includes the Lloy Ball Award to the nation’s top setter, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation’s top opposite, the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation’s top outside attacker and the Erik Shoji Award to the nation’s top libero.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2022 Ryan Millar Award voting results

1. Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – 45 votes
2. Merrick McHenry, UCLA – 18 votes
3. Guilherme Voss, Hawai’i – 15 votes
T-4. Felix Egharevba, Ball State – 3 votes
T-4. Daniel Wetter, CSUN – 3 votes
T-4. Austin Wilmot, Pepperdine – 3 votes
T-4.Luke Visgitis, Mount Olive – 3 votes
T-8. Lucas Frassrand, USC – 2 votes
T-8. Dawson Walker, Lincoln Memorial – 2 votes
T-10. Gavin Julien, BYU – 1 vote
T-10. Ethan Smith, Harvard – 1 vote
T-10. Toby Ezeonu, Penn State – 1 vote
T-10. Martin de Chavarria, NJIT – 1 vote
T-10. Guy Genis, UCLA – 1 vote