Lewis middle Mitchem named 2022 Division II National Player of Year

Photo courtesy of Lewis athletics

Lewis middle attacker Tyler Mitchem is capping off a accolade filled college career with a National Player of the Year honor.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Mitchem as the 2022 Division II National Player of the Year.

The Division II National Player of the Year is awarded to the nation’s best player on a NCAA Division II men’s volleyball team during the regular season. While Division I and Division II schools compete for the same national championship and individual awards, this award is the only national player of the year solely for Division II players.


Mitchem was seventh in the nation with a .438 attack percentage and had a career-high 3.19 kills per game average. The middle attacker also was third in the nation averaging 1.34 blocks per game, including having six blocks in an upset sweep against UCLA in January.

A voting committee of about 20 men’s volleyball coaches and volleyball media members from around the nation determined the winner of the Division II National Player of the Year. The top three vote-getters were named finalists for the national honor.

Mitchem received more votes than all other Division II players had combined and won the award by 42 votes. McKendree outside attacker Patrick Ross finished in second place with eight votes, while freshman middle attacker Michael de la Cruz garnered five votes.

This is the sixth year that Off the Block has presented the Division II National Player of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

2022 Division II National Player of the Year voting results

1. Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – 50 votes
2. Patrick Ross, McKendree – 8 votes
3. Michael de la Cruz, North Greenville – 5 votes
T-4. Michael Marsans, Lees-McRae – 4 votes
T-4. Daniel Leitao, Queens – 4 votes
T-6. Owen Chun, Concordia-Irvine – 3 votes
T-6. Ryan Serrano, McKendree – 3 votes
T-8. Luke Visgitis, Mount Olive – 2 votes
T-8. Gustavo Cavalcanti, Emmanuel – 2 votes
T-8. Kohl Kutsch, Lincoln Memorial – 2 votes
T-8. Diego Negron, Lindenwood – 2 votes
T-12. Eric Visgitis, Mount Olive – 1 vote
T-12. Geraldo Rivera, Limestone – 1 vote
T-12. Nicklas Eichenberger, Emmanuel – 1 vote
T-12. Veit Bils, Limestone – 1 vote
T-12. Tobi Azeez, Mount Olive – 1 vote