Princeton associate athletics director named to NCAA men’s volleyball committee

Photo by Fabiana Huffaker

A distinguished athletics administrator at Princeton will be tasked with helping determine the men’s volleyball NCAA Tournament field for the next four years.

Anthony Archbald, Princeton’s executive associate director of athletics, was recently selected to serve on the NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball committee.

The men’s volleyball committee is comprised of five individuals who are responsible for selecting the two at-large bids and seeding the seven-team field for the annual NCAA Tournament. The committee also is responsible for overseeing the championship event and annually adopting any rule changes.


Archbald in his current role oversees all aspects of the Princeton athletics department ranging from admissions and facilities to event operations and athletics programming. The former New York lawyer was elevated to the executive associate director position in 2013 after spending three years as Princeton’s senior associate director for compliance and campus affairs.

Before arriving at Princeton, Archbald was the assistant commissioner of compliance for the WAC and was an assistant director of compliance for the Mountain West Conference.

Princeton coach Sam Shweisky said in a statement to Off the Block that he is excited for Archbald to be a part of the NCAA committee.

“We are all so excited that Anthony has been named to this most prestigious and important NCAA men’s volleyball committee,” Shweisky said. “In the last decade that Anthony and I have worked together at Princeton, Anthony has been a huge supporter of volleyball, and we are so excited that he will now be in a position to support volleyball on a national scale.”

Archbald will replace NJIT athletics Lenny Kaplan as the East Coast representative on the committee. Kaplan concluded his term following the 2021 season, and members traditionally do not serve consecutive four-year terms.

Along with an East Coast representative, the men’s volleyball committee includes a Midwest representative, a West Coast representative and two at-large representatives.