Coker opposite Santos named 2018 Independent Teams Player of Year

The top offensive player for Coker this season has now earned the college men’s volleyball award for being the best player among independent teams.

Off the Block announced Wednesday that a nationwide voting committee of college coaches selected Coker opposite Joao Victor Santos as the 2018 Off the Block Independent Teams Player of the Year.

The Independent Teams Player of the Year recognizes the best player during the regular season from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball teams that are competing without a conference affiliation. The four independent teams this season are Alderson Broaddus, Coker, Lincoln Memorial and Queens.

Santos ended the regular season 12th in the nation with a 3.72 kills per game average and had at least 20 kills in four matches, including a season-high 26 kills in a near upset against Limestone in February. The junior opposite also is fifth in the nation averaging 0.56 aces per game and had a season-high five aces in regular season matches against Lincoln Memorial, Belmont Abbey and Queens.


Despite Coker playing the majority of the season with a six-player roster, Santos helped the Cobras earn the No. 2 seed for the upcoming IVA Tournament. In addition, Santos this season was a two-time recipient of the Off the Block Independent Teams Player of the Week.

A voting committee comprised of head coaches from all four independent teams determined the Independent Teams Player of the Year.

Santos in the voting received 10 points — five more potions than runner-up Lincoln Memorial opposite Evan Cory. Lincoln Memorial middle attacker Pedro Carvalho finished in third place with two points.

Off the Block is a website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

Along with presenting the Independent Teams Player of the Year, Off the Block presents the All-Independent Team and the Independent Teams Freshman of the Year. The college men’s volleyball website also presents the Independent Teams Player of the Week throughout the regular season.

All four independent teams will conclude their seasons competing at the IVA Tournament that begins Friday in Philippi, West Virginia.

2018 Independent Teams Player of the Year voting

1. Joao Victor Santos, Coker — 10 points
2. Evan Cory, Lincoln Memorial — 5 points
3. Pedro Carvalho, Lincoln Memorial — 2 points
4. Stephen Porras, Coker — 1 point