Alderson Broaddus middle Miller named 2017 IVA Player of Year

A senior who was one of the nation’s top defensive players throughout the season is ending his college career with a player of the year award.

Off the Block announced Wednesday that Alderson Broaddus middle attacker Myles Miller was selected by a nationwide voting committee as the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. IVA Player of the Year.

The Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. IVA Player of the Year is presented to the best men’s volleyball player during the regular season from NCAA Division I-II teams that competed as independents and are participating in the upcoming IVA Tournament.

Alderson Broaddus, Coker and Lincoln Memorial will compete for IVA Tournament championship this weekend in Hartsville, South Carolina. The college men’s volleyball tournament was formed earlier this year as a defacto end-of-season conference tournament for independent teams.


Miller is second in the nation with a 1.23 blocks per game average and had seven matches with at least five blocks during the regular season. The middle attacker also leads the Battlers and is among the nation’s top 40 with a .316 attack percentage.

Among Miller’s top performances of the season included a match-high nine blocks along with seven kills and zero attack errors while hitting .778 in a four-game victory against Lincoln Memorial in February. In addition, Miller had a season-high 10 kills and added four blocks in a five-game loss to Coker on February.

The voting committee for IVA Player of the Year was comprised of head coaches from the participating teams in the upcoming IVA Tournament and Off the Block editor Vinnie Lopes.

Miller beat the runner-up Coker opposite Joao Victor Santos by four points to win the award. Lincoln Memorial freshman opposite Evan Cory finished in third place in the voting

Off the Block is a website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

Springbak, Inc. is the official sponsor of the IVA Player of the Year and produces high performance footwear used by professional athletes from the NFL, NBA, MLB and U.S. Olympic teams and the top college teams in the nation.

Off the Block annually presents national college men’s volleyball awards to recognize outstanding individual performances. Among the other national awards it presents includes the Lloy Ball Award for the nation’s top setter, the Karch Kiraly Award for the nation’s top outside attacker, the Bryan Ivie Award for the nation’s top opposite, the Ryan Millar Award for the nation’s top middle attacker, the Erik Shoji Award for the nation’s top libero, the Flyer Award for the nation’s top Division II player, the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. Freshmen All-American Team, the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Freshman of the Year.

1. Myles Miller, Alderson Broaddus — 20 points
2. Joao Victor Santos, Coker — 16 points
3. Evan Cory, Lincoln Memorial — 14 points
4. Josh Riblett, Lincoln Memorial — 13 points
5. Pedro Carvalho, Lincoln Memorial — 9 points
6. Obenda Besongngem, Alderson Broaddus — 8 points
7. Gabriel Castro, Coker — 7 points
T-8. Luca Berger, Coker — 5 points
T-8. Ryan Iskandar, Lincoln Memorial — 5 points
T-10. Artur Cabral, Coker — 4 points
T-10. Jorge Collazo, Lincoln Memorial — 4 points
12. Timothy McIntosh, Alderson Broaddus — 2 points
13. Gary Baker, Coker — 1 point