MPSF announces 2014 Player of Year, all-conference teams

For the fourth time in the conference’s history, a player has won multiple MPSF Player of the Year honors during his college career.

The MPSF announced Thursday that BYU All-American outside attacker Taylor Sander was selected as the conference’s player of the year for the second consecutive season.

Sander was among the conference leaders with a 4.60 kills per game average and had double-digit kills in all but one of BYU’s matches this season. The senior also helped the Cougars win a share of the MPSF regular season title.


Along with player of year honors, Sander was one of 12 players named to the First-Team All-MPSF.

Stanford led all teams with five players earning all-conference team honors, while Pepperdine had four players selected to an all-conference team.

Check out what players earned all-conference honors and the top individual awards from the MPSF.

MPSF Player of the Year:
Taylor Sander, BYU
MPSF Freshman of the Year: Lucas Yoder, USC

Setter: Micah Christenson, USC
Setter: James Shaw, Stanford
Setter: Matt West, Pepperdine
Setter: Jonah Seif, UC Santa Barbara
Opposite: Brain Cook, Stanford
Outside attacker: Taylor Sander, BYU
Outside attacker: Taylor Crabb, Long Beach State
Outside attacker: Gonzalo Quiroga, UCLA
Outside attacker: Josh Taylor, Pepperdine
Outside attacker: Steven Irvin
Middle attacker: Taylor Averill
Middle attacker: Scott Krevorken
Opposite: Brain Cook, Stanford

Opposite: Brook Sedore, Hawai’i
Opposite: Spencer Rowe, UCLA
Opposite: Parker Kalmbach
Opposite: Eric Mochalski, Stanford
Opposite: Evan Licht, UC Santa Barbara
Outside attacker: Robart Page, UCLA
Outside attacker: Lucas Yoder, USC
Middle attacker: Devin Yong, BYU
Middle attacker: Matt Tarantino, Pepperdine
Middle attacker: Conrad Kaminsky, Stanford
Libero: Michael Brinkley
Libero: Henry Cassiday, USC

Setter: Connor Olbright, Long Beach State
Opposite: Thomas Hodges, Pacific
Outside attacker: Jeremy Dejno, UC Irvine
Outside attacker: Matt Hanley, UC Santa Barbara
Outside attacker: Sam Holt, Cal State Northidge
Outside attacker: Dalton Ammerman, Long Beach State
Middle attacker: Greg Faulkner, Cal State Northridge
Middle attacker: Michael Hatch, BYU
Middle attacker: Andy Benesh, USC
Middle attacker: Tommy Carmody, Pacific
Middle attacker: Jake Staahl, UC Santa Barbara
Middle attacker: Jeff Ornee, Long Beach State
Libero: Andrew Sato, Long Beach State
Libero: Chad Kingi, UC Santa Barbara
Libero: Grant Delgado, Stanford

Opposite: Thomas Hodges, Pacific
Opposite: Tim Dobbert, BYU
Outside attacker: Lucas Yoder, USC
Middle attacker: Andy Benesh, USC
Middle attacker: Mitch Stahl, UCLA
Libero: Bradley Sakaida, Cal State Northridge
LIbero: Jackson Bantle, UCLA