Off the Block Fan Choice Player of the Year: Championship

Stanford libero Erik Shoji or Ball State middle attacker Matt Leske will end Thursday winning a national award — and it’s up to the fans to determine the winner.

The Off the Block Fan Choice Player of the Year recognizes the best individual performances from NCAA Division I-II men’s volleyball players during the season and gives volleyball fans the chance decide the winner through online voting in a bracket-style tournament.

The Fan Choice Player of the Year tournament started with 65 players and the seven-round tournament will conclude Thursday with the national championship match.


Online voting for this championship match will end at 11 p.m. (EST) Thursday.


No. 3 seed Erik Shoji – Stanford, libero
Shoji, the Stanford career leader in digs, led the MPSF and was third in the nation with a 2.69 digs per game average. The senior also set a record being named a First-Team All-American for four years and helped the Cardinal advance to the MPSF Tournament championship match.
No. 11 seed Matt Leske — Ball State, middle attacker
Leske led the MIVA and was eighth in the nation with a 1.32 blocks per game average. The sophomore also was a Second-Team All-MIVA selection as Ball State finished tied for fourth place in the MIVA and advanced to the MIVA Tournament semifinals.