Off the Block announces finalists for top MIVA All-Decade Awards

Photo courtesy of Lewis athletics

The finalists for the top MIVA All-Decade Awards are set.

Off the Block announced on Thursday the finalists for the MIVA Player of the Decade, MIVA Coach of the Decade and the MIVA Team of the Decade.

A nationwide voting committee of men’s volleyball coaches and volleyball media members determined the finalists and overall winners for each of the three decade honors. The top three vote-getters for a category were named finalists with the winners scheduled to be revealed next week on the Off the Block website.


Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage. Off the Block annually presents college men’s volleyball national awards to recognize outstanding individual performances in the sport.

Check out all the players and teams named finalists for the MIVA All-Decade Awards.

MIVA Player of the Decade finalists

Thomas Jaeschke, Loyola
Geoff Powell, Lewis
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State

MIVA Coach of the Decade finalists

Shane Davis, Loyola
Dan Friend, Lewis
Pete Hanson, Ohio State

MIVA Team of the Decade finalists

2014 Loyola
2016 Ohio State
2017 Ohio State