LBSU, George Mason, Ohio State, UCLA win NCAA Tourney bids

The NCAA Tournament sites are set for the next five years.

The NCAA announced on Tuesday that Long Beach State, George Mason, Ohio State and UCLA were selected to play host to the upcoming Division I-II men’s volleyball championships between 2019 to 2022.

The championship selection committee used a variety a factors to determine the locations during this four-year bid cycle. Among the criteria included choosing host sites that would create an exceptional experience for student-athletes and adhere to specific NCAA bid guidelines.

The NCAA continued its traditional trend awarding men’s volleyball championship to an East Coast school, a Midwest school and two West Coast schools.

All four schools winning bids for the men’s volleyball championship have experience playing host to the event.

Long Beach State won the bid for the 2019 NCAA Tournament, which will occur May 2-4, 2019 at the Walter Pyramid. The 49ers previously earned two NCAA Tournament bids in a three-year span when they played host to the event in 2001 and 2003.


George Mason was awarded its second all-time championship bid and first since the 1990 championship as it will play host to the 2020 NCAA Tournament on May 7-9, 2020 at EagleBank Arena. In addition, George Mason is the first East Coast school besides Penn State in more than two decades to be selected as a NCAA Tournament site.

“We are excited to bring the country’s best into our gym, and showcase the beauty of the D.C. metro area,” George Mason coach Jay Hosack said. “It’s been over 25 years since Mason has hosted. We look forward to doing it again in 2020.”

Ohio State for the second consecutive four-year cycle earned a NCAA Tournament bid. Along with playing host to the upcoming NCAA Tournament in May, Ohio State will be the site of the 2021 NCAA Tournament on May 6-8, 2021.

The NCAA Tournament will return UCLA for the 2022 NCAA Tournament on May 5-7, 2022 at Pauley Pavilion. This will be the 13th time the NCAA Tournament will be held at UCLA, including the Bruins playing host to the upcoming NCAA Tournament next season.

The men’s volleyball Division I-II NCAA Tournament is comprised of six teams. The semifinals and finals are played at the NCAA Tournament site, and NCAA has the option each year to have the two play-in matches take place at the NCAA Tournament site or at on-campus locations.

Along the men’s volleyball NCAA Tournament, the NCAA announced on Tuesday more than 600 host sites for future championship events.

Kean, Loras, Nazareth and the Ohio Athletic Conference all earned bids to host the men’s volleyball Division III NCAA Tournament between 2019 and 2022.

The women’s beach volleyball championship will continue to be played at Gulf Shores, Alabama, through 2022. In addition, the beach volleyball championship and men’s volleyball Division I-II NCAA Tournament will continue to occur on the same weekend and in separate locations.

Future men’s volleyball Division I-II NCAA Tournament hosts
2019 — Long Beach State (Long Beach, California)
2020 — George Mason (Faifrax, Virginia)
2021 — Ohio State and Greater Columbus Sports Commission (Columbus, Ohio)
2022 — UCLA (Los Angeles)

Future men’s volleyball Division III NCAA Tournament hosts
2019 — Kean (Union, New Jersey)
2020 — Loras (Dubuque, Iowa)
2021 — Nazareth and Monroe County Sports Commission (Rochester, New York)
2022 — Ohio Athletic Conference and Canton Stark CVB (Canton, Ohio)