EIVA reveals conference’s inaugural Hall of Fame class

Six members were selected to be part of the inaugural class to the EIVA Hall of Fame.

The EIVA announced Wednesday that Uvaldo Acosta, Tom Hay, Ivan Marquez, Bill Odeneal, Bob Sweeney and Tom Tait will be inducted into the conference’s new hall of fame.

“The six individuals who make up the first class in the EIVA Hall of Fame represent a wide range of eras and contributions, from players and coaches to administration,” EIVA President Ron Shayka said in a statement. “This class has had a major impact on where our league started and where it is going, and this recognition is long overdue.”


The EIVA, which was founded as the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball League in 1971, has emerged as the prominent men’s volleyball conference in the East Coast. In addition, the EIVA is one of three conferences that receives an automatic bid to the men’s volleyball Division I-II NCAA Tournament.

With this announcement, the EIVA becomes the first men’s volleyball conference to create a hall of fame that honors its former players and coaches.

The six hall of fame honorees will be recognized at the EIVA championship match on April 29.

Uvaldo Acosta — George Mason
Tom Hay –Springfield College
Ivan Marquez — Concordia
Bill Odeneal — SUNY New Paltz
Bob Sweeney — East Stroudsburg
Tom Tait — Penn State