11 incoming freshmen win USA Volleyball junior national championship

Eleven incoming Division I-II freshmen men’s volleyball players ended their junior careers as national champions.

Balboa Bay 18 Quiksilver swept Santa Monica Beach Club 25-17, 25-23 to win the 18-Open Division championship at the 2011 USA Volleyball Boys’ Junior National Championships on Saturday in Minneapolis.

Balboa Bay, a volleyball club located in Southern California, went undefeated and lost one set in its 11 matches during the four-day tournament. Eleven of the 12 players on the Balboa Bay roster had committed to a Division I-II men’s volleyball team prior to the national tournament.

Outside attacker Cody Caldwell, a Loyola recruit, was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player following the championship victory.


Loyola and UC Irvine led all schools with two incoming recruits. Penn State, UC Santa Barbara, Pepperdine, Stanford, Long Beach State, USC and UCLA each have one incoming recruit from Balboa Bay.

The USA Volleyball Boys’ Junior National Championships is comprised of five open divisions based on age from 14 to 18 years old and seven club divisions from 12 years old to under-18. More than 375 boys’ volleyball teams will participate at this annual weeklong event.

For the latest results from the Boys’ Junior National Championships, go to USA Volleyball for daily updates.

Balboa Bay 18 Quiksilver roster with college commitment

Ryan Baine — Loyola
Michael Brinkley — UC Irvine
Cody Caldwell — Loyola
Nick Curci — UC Santa Barbara
Evan Dean — Pepperdine
Spencer Haly — Stanford
Taylor Hammond — Penn State
John Henry — Long Beach State
Zach Lacavera — UC Irvine
Robbie McKnight — USC
Rusty Sary — Orange Coast College
Ian Sequcira — UCLA

*College commitments according to Middle Hitter and the Balboa Bay Volleyball Club website